top of page
  • Writer's pictureInner Odyssey

Leading a Simple Life



There is quite a huge trend these days of people quitting their normal, conventional lives, to settle off-grid and lead a simple life. And this has caught me many times reflecting on the meaning of the actions I carry out every day, sometimes robotically. And I decided I should absolutely write an article about the topic.


Because we were taught that we should graduate with a high degree to claim a prosperous position in society, we were somehow dictated what a spellbinding, ravishing life should sound or look like. I never had to reflect on what I define as a joyful life by myself. I was caught in the trap of prejudicial opinions that "society" have carved in my brain.


It wasn't until I watched this acclaimed adventurous movie "Into the Wild" that I had pinned down there is something both, Chris and I, shared in common. Back then, I was tied-up in strenuous academic years at the end of which, I should pass examinations and enter prestigious engineering schools. Sometimes, I got myself thinking, "Does it worth all this pain to live or survive?".


In fact, these are all sets of norms and standards we were decreed to follow begrudgingly. For what purpose? To land our dream job, purchase a fancy car, and live in a sumptuous house. All our existence is boiled down to objects and materials. We buy things we don't need, with money we don't have, to impress people we don't love or know.


Then, at some stage, we reach a break point. Only then we could sense the purposeless life we have been leading. Some become addicted, others suicide. At best, the remainder of survivors consume painkillers to overcome depression. Stunningly, the highest rates in terms of suicide are grossed in the world most thriving countries, offering all sorts of exquisite livelihoods.


On the flip side of the coin, those living in a simple wooden cabin, performing ordinary daily activities by themselves, not worrying about the future, eking out a sufficient living by harvesting vegetables from grown up sprouts in their backyard, tend to live contentent and more happily. They live sustainably and in harmony with nature.


The true meaning of life never resides in drowning oneself in mundane materialism, but rather in creating room for what truly make us unique: sensitivity, consciousness and inner realization.


If this resonates with you, then you should definitely seek out more insights about the topic. I would highly recommend checking out Rob Greenfield or Kalle Flodin's videos on Youtube, or watch the documentary "300 days alone".



Inspired from the movie "Into the Wild".


13 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page